Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

The Honourable JOHN D. WALLACE

Monday, February 20, 2012
Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Issue No. 12

Seventh and eighth meetings on:

Bill C-10, An Act to enact the Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act and to amend the State Immunity Act, the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and other Acts


Tuesday, February 21, 2012

The Honourable Jason Kenney, P.C., M.P., Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism


Monday, February 20, 2012

Assembly of First Nations:

Shawn (A-in-chut) Atleo, National Chief (by video conference);

Roger Jones, Senior Strategist.

Canadian Council for Refugees:

Loly Rico, Vice-President.

As individuals:

Benjamin Perrin, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of British Columbia (by video conference);

Audrey Macklin, Professor of Law, University of Toronto (by videoconference);

Jenna Hennebry, Associate Professor, Communications Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University (by video conference).

Canadian Coalition Against Terror:

Maureen Basnicki, Co-Founder;

Sheryl Saperia, Senior Advisor.

Canadian Centre for International Justice:

Jayne Stoyles, Executive Director.

As individuals:

Hilary Young, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's Unviersity;

David Quayat, Lawyer.

Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs:

Richard Marceau, General Counsel.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Superintendent John Bilinski, Officer in Charge, Canadian Police Centre for Missing and Exploited Children.

Officer Jackie Basque, National Child Exploitation Coordination Centre.

Ontario Provincial Police:

Scott Naylor, Detective Inspector.

Parents-Secours du Québec:

Pierre Chalifoux, Director General.

Beyond Borders:

David Matas, Legal Team Member.

Boost Child Abuse Prevention & Intervention:

Karyn Kennedy, Executive Director.

As an individual:

Randall Fletcher, Sexual Deviance Specialist.

Comité des orphelin(es) victimes d'abus:

Lucien Landry, President;

Tony Doussot, Secretary.

Kids Internet Safety Alliance:

Paul Gillespie, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Centre for Abuse Awareness:

Ellen Campbell, President, CEO and Founder;

Mark Allan, Director of Public Safety.

Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers:

Lawrence Ellerby, Forensic Psychologist.

Respect Group Inc.:

Sheldon Kennedy, Co-Founder.

Public Safety Canada:

Karl Hanson, Senior Research Officer.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada:

David Manicom, Director General, Immigration Branch;

Bradley Pascoe, Senior Policy Advisor, Temporary Resident Policy and Program;

Nisrin Nasrallah, Counsel.


The Honourable John D. Wallace, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Chaput, Cowan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dagenais, Frum, Jaffer, Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Chaput replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (February 21, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Cowan replaced the Honourable Senator Joyal, P.C. (February 17, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Chaput (February 17, 2012).

Back to top