Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

The Honourable JOHN D. WALLACE

Wednesday, February 22, 2012
Thursday, February 23, 2012

Issue No. 13

Ninth and tenth meetings on:

Bill C-10, An Act to enact the Justice for Victims of Terrorism Act and to amend the State Immunity Act, the Criminal Code, the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and other Acts


Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Inspector Michael Lesage, Acting Director General, National Aboriginal Policing;

Constable Beth Rolston, National Crime Prevention Services.

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Chris McNeil, Deputy Chief of Operations, Halifax Regional Police.

Toronto Police Service:

Stephen Nevill, Detective, Youth Services.

As individuals:

Marc Bellemare, Lawyer;

Line Lacasse;

Joanne Jong;

Barry Stuart.

Legal Aid — Longueuil:

Marie-Pierre Blouin, Lawyer, Youth Section.

UNICEF Canada:

Marvin Bernstein, Chief Advisor, Advocacy.

Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres:

Juliette Nicolet, Policy Director.

Canadian Council of Child and Youth Advocates:

Mary-Ellen Turpel-Lafond, President (by video conference);

Sylvie Godin, Vice-President.

As individuals:

Rachel Grondin, Professor, Civil Law, University of Ottawa;

Merlin Nunn.

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Correctional Service Canada:

Don Head, Commissioner;

Jan Looman, Psychologist, Program Director, High Intensity Sex Offender Treatment Program.

Parole Board of Canada:

Harvey Cenaiko, Chairperson;

Suzanne Brisebois, Director General, Policy, Planning and Operations;

Denis Ladouceur, Director, Clemency and Pardons.

Office of the Correctional Investigator Canada:

Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator;

Marie-France Kingsley, Director of Investigations.

Canadian Association of Police Boards:

Derek Mombourquette, Vice-President.

As individuals:

Diane (Shamane) Tremblay;

Sandra Dion;

Nicole Latour;

John Martin, Criminologist, University of the Fraser Valley;

Dr. Isabelle Gaston.

Aboriginal Legal Services of Toronto:

Christa Big Canoe, Legal Advocacy Director.

Royal Ottawa Health Care Group:

Dr. John M. W. Bradford, Professor of Psychiatry, University of Ottawa.

Institute Philippe Pinel of Montreal:

Dr. Joël Watts, Psychiatrist (by video conference).

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health:

Dr. Scott Woodside, Forensic Psychiatrist (by video conference).

Canadian Parents of Murdered Children and Survivors of Homicide Victims Inc.:

Yvonne Harvey, Chair.

Association des familles des personnes assassinées ou disparues:

Elizabeth Pousoulidis, President.

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Kim Pate, Executive Director.

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.


The Honourable John D. Wallace, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Angus, Baker, P.C., Boisvenu, Chaput, Cowan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dagenais, Frum, Jaffer, Lang, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Back to top