Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12-13

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Wednesday, May 22, 2013
Thursday, May 23, 2013

Issue No. 37

Third and fourth (final) meetings on:

Bill C-299, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (kidnapping of young person)

First meeting on:

Bill C-15, An Act to amend the National Defence Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts

(Bill C-299, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (kidnapping of young person))


Thursday, May 23, 2013

The Honourable Peter MacKay, P.C., M.P. Minister of National Defence


Wednesday, May 22, 2013

As an individual:

The Honourable John Charles Major, Former Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada (by video conference).

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Michael Spratt, Representative.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

Indira Stewart, Representative.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Assistant Commissioner Antoine Babinsky, Technical Operations;

Inspector Carole Bird, Officer in Charge, Missing Persons & Unidentified Remains.

Canadian Centre for Child Protection:

Lianna McDonald, Executive Director (by video conference);

Monique St. Germain, General Counsel (by video conference).

Thursday, May 23, 2013

National Defence:

Vice-Admiral Bruce Donaldson, Vice Chief of the Defence Staff;

Colonel Tim Grubb, CD1, Canadian Forces Provost Marshal.

Office of the Judge Advocate General:

Major-General Blaise Cathcart, Judge Advocate General of the Canadian Forces.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Baker, P.C., Batters, Boisvenu, *Cowan(or Tardif), Dagenais, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), McIntyre, Plett, Rivest, White

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (May 23, 2013).

The Honourable Senator White replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (May 23, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator White (May 22, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (May 22, 2013).

The Honourable Senator Jaffer replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (May 9, 2013).

Back to top