Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011

Chair: The Honourable JOSEPH A. DAY

Tuesday, October 25, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Issue No. 6

Second and third meetings on:

Study on the potential reasons for price discrepancies in respect of certain good between Canada and the United States, given the value of the Canadian dollar and the effect of cross border shopping on the Canada economy


Tuesday, October 25, 2011

As individuals:

Ian Gordon, President, Convergence Management Consultants Ltd.;

Tom Vassos, University of Toronto (by video conference);

Michael Mulvey, University of Ottawa.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

As individuals:

Ken Wong, Queen's University;

Avi Goldfarb, University of Toronto, Rotman School of Management.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Brent Patten, Director, Commercial Border Programs Division;

Wayne Tallack, Manager, Port of Entry Operation Division;

Lily Ooi, Director, Trusted Travellers Programs Division.


The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Chair

The Honourable Irving Gerstein, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Callbeck, *Cowan (or Tardif), Dickson, Eggleton, P.C., Finley, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Marshall, Nancy Ruth, Neufeld, Peterson, Ringuette, Runciman

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Angus (October 26, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Angus replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (October 24, 2011).

The Honourable Senator Gerstein replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (October 20, 2011).