Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Fisheries and Oceans

Issue 12 - Minutes of Proceedings - November 29, 2012

MONCTON, Thursday, November 29, 2012


The Standing Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met this day at 2:05 p.m., in the Rendez-vous Room, Future Inns Moncton, the chair, the Honourable Fabian Manning, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Harb, Hubley, Manning, McInnis, Poirier and Unger (6).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (1).

In attendance: Odette Madore, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament; Mona Ishack, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate of the Senate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 8, 2012, the committee continued to examine issues relating to the lobster fishery in Atlantic Canada and Quebec. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 6.)


Prince Edward Island Fishermen's Association:

Mike McGeoghegan, President;

Ian MacPherson, Executive Director.

Fish, Food and Allied Workers:

Keith Sullivan, Market Analyst.

Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec:

O'Neil Cloutier, Vice-President.

Maritime Fishermen's Union:

Christian Brun, Executive Secretary;

Reginald Comeau, Regional Coordinator.

LFA 24 Lobster Advisory Board:

Norman Peters, President, North Shore Fisherman's Association;

Peter Boertien, President, Eastern Kings Fisherman's Association.

LFA 25 Lobster Advisory Board:

Lee Knox, President, Prince County Fisherman's Association.

Maritime Fishermen's Union:

Carl Allen, Fisherman;

Réjean Comeau, Fisherman.

Regroupement des pêcheurs professionnels du sud de la Gaspésie:

O'Neil Cloutier, Executive Director.

Eastern Shore Fishermen's Protective Association:

Peter Connors, President.

LFA 26A Lobster Advisory Board:

Bobby Jenkins, President, Southern Kings and Queens Fisherman's Association.

Western Gulf Fisherman's Association:

Craig Avery, President.

Gulf of Nova Scotia Fishermen's Coalition:

Leonard Leblanc, President.

Messrs. MacPherson, Sullivan, Cloutier and Brun each made a statement and, together with Messrs. McGeoghegan and Comeau, answered questions.

At 3:52 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:03 p.m., the committee resumed.

Messrs. Knox, Boertien, Peters, Cloutier, Allen and Comeau each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:29 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:39 p.m., the committee resumed.

Messrs. Connors, Jenkins, Avery, Leblanc, Sullivan and MacPherson each made a statement and answered questions.

At 7:05 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Danielle Labonté

Clerk of the committee

Back to top