Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2011-12

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, June 4, 2012

Issue No. 14

Fifth meeting on:

Issue of cyberbullying in Canada with regard to Canada's international human rights obligations under Article 19 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child


Springbank Middle School:

Bill Belsey, Teacher (by video conference);

Samantha Hoogveld, Student (by video conference);

Mariel Calvo, Student (by video conference);

Emily Dickey, Student (by video conference);

Emilie Richards, Student (by video conference);

Molly Turner, Student (by video conference);

Katie Allan, Student (by video conference);

Shelby Anderson, Student (by video conference);

Sloane Anderson, Student (by videoconference);

Oliver Buchner, Student (by video conference).

Anti-Defamation League:

Scott Hirschfeld, Director of Curriculum (by video conference);

Seth M. Marnin, Assistant Director, Legal Affairs, Civil Rights Division (by video conference).

Egale Canada:

Helen Kennedy, Executive Director.


Marie-Eve Villeneuve, Director, Corporate Communications.

UNICEF Canada:

Marvin Bernstein, Chief Advisor, Advocacy.

Canadian Red Cross:

Chris Hilton, Senior Manager, Government Relations;

Alisha Virmani, Youth Leader;

Amélie Doyon, Creating Safe Environments Officer.

Canadian Council of Provincial Child and Youth Advocates:

Christian Whalen, Acting Child and Youth Advocate, Office of the Ombudsman of New Brunswick.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Patrick Brazeau, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:
Ataullahjan, *Cowan (or Tardif), Harb, *LeBreton, P.C. (or Carignan), Robichaud, P.C., Meredith, Seidman, White, Zimmer

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 85(4), membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Seidman replaced the Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth (June 4, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth replaced the Honourable Senator Andreychuk (June 4, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Robichaud, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (June 4, 2012).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (June 4, 2012).