Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Issue 26 - Minutes of Proceedings - May 6, 2013

OTTAWA, Monday, May 6, 2013


The Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day, at 4 p.m. in room 160-S, Centre Block, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Ataullahjan, Harb, Hubley, Jaffer, Ngo, Oh and White (8).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk and Nancy Ruth (2).

In attendance: Julian Walker, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, June 22, 2011, the committee continued its examination of issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, to review the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations. (Federal programs supporting sports and recreational activities for children and youth with disabilities) (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 1.)


Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada:

Marie Gervais-Vidricaire, Director General, Stabilisation and Reconstruction Task Force;

Jim Junke, Director, Human Rights Policy Division.

National Defence:

Major-General Michael Day, Director General, International Security Policy.

Canadian International Development Agency:

Lilian Chatterjee, Director General, Thematic and Sectoral Policy, Strategic Policy and Performance Branch.

Pearson Centre:

Ann Livingstone, Vice-President, Research and Learning Design.

University of Winnipeg Global College:

Marilou McPhedran, Director, Institute for International Women's Rights.

International Civil Society Action Network:

Sanam Naraghi-Anderlini, Co-founder.

Initiative on Quiet Diplomacy:

Barry Parkinson, Associate.

The chair made opening remarks.

Ms. Gervais-Vidricaire and Major-General Day each made a presentation and, with Ms. Chatterjee and Mr. Junke, answered questions.

At 4:59 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:02 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Livingstone, Ms. McPherdran, Mr. Parkinson and Ms. Naraghi-Anderlini each made a presentation and answered questions.

At 6 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Daniel Charbonneau

Clerk of the Committee