Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14-15

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015

Issue No. 24

Fifth (final) meeting:

Bill C-18, An Act to amend certain Acts relating to agriculture and agri-food


Tenth and eleventh meetings:

Study on international market access priorities for the Canadian agricultural and agri-food sector

(Bill C-18)


Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Animal Nutrition Association of Canada:

Graham Cooper, Executive Director;

Melissa Dumont, Director of Technical Services.

Agricultural Credit Corporation:

Jaye Atkins, Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency:

Veronica McGuire, Executive Director, Program, Regulatory & Trade Policy;

Nicolas McCandie Glustien, Manager, Legislative Affairs.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada:

Rosser Lloyd, Director General, Business Risk Management Programs Directorate, Programs Branch;

Martin Crevier, Assistant Director, Financial Guarantee Programs Division, Programs Branch.

Justice Canada:

Louise Sénéchal, General Counsel and Deputy Executive Director, Agriculture and Food Inspection Legal Services;

Sara Guild, Acting Manager and Senior Counsel, Agriculture and Food Inspection, Legal Services.

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Canadian Honey Council:

Rod Scarlett, Executive Director.

Flowers Canada Growers:

Andrew Morse, Manager, Plant Health and Trade.

Canadian Produce Marketing Association:

Jane Proctor, Vice President, Policy and Issues Management;

Ron Lemaire, President.

Thursday, February 26, 2015

Canadian Council of Chief Executives:

Brian Kingston, Senior Associate.

Canadian Sugar Institute:

Sandra Marsden, President;

Mike Walton, Member.

International Maple Syrup Institute:

Dave Chapeskie, Executive Director.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Claudette Tardif, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Dagenais, Enverga, Maltais, McIntyre, Merchant, Moore, Munson, Ogilvie, Unger

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator McIntyre replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (February 26, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Mercer (February 25, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Ogilvie replaced the Honourable Senator Rivard (February 18, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (February 18, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Moore replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (February 18, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Rivard replaced the Honourable Senator Ogilvie (February 17, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Moore (February 17, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (February 16, 2015).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (February 5, 2015).