Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable IRVING GERSTEIN

Wednesday, February 5, 2014
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Issue No. 5

Sixth, seventh and eighth meetings on:

The ability of individuals to establish a registered disability savings plan (RDSP), with particular emphasis on legal representation and the ability of individuals to enter into a contract


Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Desjardins Group:

Jean Sylvain, Chief of Product Line, Specialized Investment Product Line Management Department.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Credit Union Central of Canada:

Anna Hardy, Regulatory Affairs Regional Director, Central 1 Credit Union;

Ryan Fontaine, Senior Wealth Consultant, Assiniboine Credit Union.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

As an individual:

Sébastien G. Desmarais, Lawyer, Tierney Stauffer LLP.

Goddard Gamage Stephens LLP:

Nimali Gamage, Partner.

British Columbia Law Institute:

Laura Tamblyn Watts, Senior Fellow, Canadian Centre for Elder Law.

Law Commission of Ontario:

Adam Dodek, Member, Board of Governors;

Sarah Mason-Case, Research Lawyer.


The Honourable Irving Gerstein, Chair

The Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bellemare, Black, Campbell, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Greene, Massicotte, Mockler, Ngo, Ringuette, Rivard, Tkachuk

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Bellemare replaced the Honourable Senator Nancy Ruth (February 11, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Mockler replaced the Honourable Senator Maltais (February 10, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Black replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (February 6, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (February 6, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Wells replaced the Honourable Senator Black (February 6, 2014).

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (February 5, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Ngo replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (January 30, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Rivard replaced the Honourable Senator Mockler (January 30, 2014).

Back to top