Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable IRVING GERSTEIN

Wednesday, May 14, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014

Issue No. 11

Fourth and fifth meetings on:

The subject-matter of those elements contained in Parts 2, 3 and 4 and Divisions 2, 3, 4, 8, 13, 14, 19, 22, 24 and 25 of Part 6 of Bill C-31, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures


Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Canadian Bankers Association:

Marina Mandal, Senior Legal Counsel;

Kenneth Thorlakson, Vice-President and Associate General Counsel, Scotia Bank.

Insurance Brokers Association of Canada:

Steve Masnyk, Manager, Public Affairs.

Canadian Association of Mutual Insurance Companies:

Normand Lafrenière, President.

The Co-operators:

Frank Lowery, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary.

Economical Insurance:

Karen Gavan, President and CEO.

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers:

Bob Bleaney, Vice President, Ottawa and Eastern/Atlantic Canada;

Paul Barnes, Manager, Atlantic Canada and Arctic.

Canadian Cancer Society:

Rob Cunningham, Senior Policy Analyst.

Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada:

Manuel Arango, Director, Health Policy.

Canadian Medical Association:

Dr. Chris Milburn, Member of the Committee on Health Care and Promotion;

Jill Skinner, Associate Director, Public Health.


The Honourable Irving Gerstein, Chair

The Honourable Céline Hervieux-Payette, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bellemare, Black, Campbell, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Greene, Maltais, Massicotte, Ngo, Ringuette, Tkachuk

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Campbell replaced the Honourable Senator Moore (May 15, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Moore replaced the Honourable Senator Campbell (May 14, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Black replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (May 12, 2014).

Back to top