Skip to content
ENEV - Standing Committee

Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable RICHARD NEUFELD

Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014

Issue No. 18

First and second meetings:

The subject matter of those elements contained in Divisions 3, 28, and 29 of Part 4 of Bill C-43, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 11, 2014 and other measures


Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

Stephen Van Dine, Director General, Northern Strategic Policy Branch;

Annie Moulin, Senior Analyst, Northern Strategic Policy Branch;

Martin Raillard, Chief Scientist, Canadian High Arctic Research Station.

Justice Canada:

Alison Forrest, Counsel;

Ekaterina Ohandjanian, Legal Counsel, Legal Services.

Lisa Jacobson, Legal Counsel, Legal Services.

Natural Resources Canada:

Mark Pearson, Director General, External Relations, Science and Policy Integration Sector;

Susan Weston, Senior Policy Advisor, International Relations, Science and Policy Integration Sector;

Jean-Frédéric Lafaille, Director General, AECL Restructuring.

Mining Association of Canada:

Ben Chalmers, Vice-President, Sustainable Development.

Publish What You Pay-Canada:

Claire Woodside, Director.

Treasury Board Canada Secretariat:

Dominique Laporte, Executive Director, Pension Policy and Programs, Pension and Benefits Sector.

Atomic Energy Canada Limited:

Robert Walker, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Jonathan Lundy, Chief Transition Officer.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Canadian Polar Commission: (by video conference)

David J. Scott, Executive Director;

David Hik, Board member.

Northwest Territories and Nunavut Chamber of Mines:

Elizabeth Kingston, General Manager.

Municipality of Cambridge Bay: (by video conference):

Jeannie Ehaloak, Mayor.


The Honourable Richard Neufeld, Chair

The Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Black, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), MacDonald , Mitchell, Patterson, Ringuette, Seidman, Sibbeston, Wallace

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (November 5, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Black replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (November 5, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (November 3, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Black (November 3, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Boisvenu replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (October 30, 2014).

Back to top