Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Issue 2, Minutes of Proceedings - February 12, 2014

OTTAWA, Wednesday, February 12, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met at 4:16 p.m. this day, in room 257, East Block, the chair, the Honourable Bob Runciman, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Baker, P.C., Batters, Boisvenu, Dagenais, Dallaire, Frum, Joyal, P.C., McIntyre, Plett and Runciman (10).

In attendance: Robin MacKay and Caroline Sauvé, analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, February 4, 2014, the committee began its study of Bill C-217, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (mischief relating to war memorials).


David Tilson, Member of Parliament for Dufferin—Caledon, sponsor of the bill.

As individuals:

Colonel (Ret') Andrew Nellestyn;

Chris Skalozub.

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.

The chair made an opening statement.

At 4:17 p.m., the Honourable Senator Baker, P.C., took the chair.

Mr. Tilson, Mr. Nellestyn and Mr. Skalozub each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:42 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Latimer made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:27 p.m., the committee proceeded to consider a draft budget.

It was agreed that a legislative budget application for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014, in the amount of $7,894, be approved for submission to the Standing Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration.

General Expenses    $ 3,500
Activity 1: Fact-finding (Brockville, ON)    $ 4,394
TOTAL    $ 7,894

The committee continued to discuss a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that the committee postpone consideration of possible topics for a special study.

At 6:31 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Shaila Anwar

Clerk of the Committee