Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Tuesday September 9, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014

Issue No. 15

First, second and third meetings on:

The subject-matter of Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Criminal Code in response to the Supreme Court of Canada decision in Attorney General of Canada v. Bedford and to make consequential amendments to other Acts


Tuesday, September 9, 2014

The Honourable Peter MacKay, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada


Tuesday September 9, 2014

Department of Justice Canada:

Donald K. Piragoff, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector;

Nathalie Levman, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section;

Carole Morency, Director General and Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section.

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Kim Pate, Executive Director.

Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC):

Michèle Audette, President;

Teresa Edwards, Director of International Affairs and Human Rights.

Walk With Me Canada:

Robert Hooper, Chairperson, Board of Directors;

Timea E. Nagy, Founder and Front-Line Victim Care Worker.

Asian Women Coalition Ending Prostitution:

Suzanne Jay, Member;

Alice Lee, Member.

The Evangelical Fellowship of Canada:

Julia Beazley, Policy Analyst.

Pivot Legal Society:

Katrina Pacey, Litigation Director;

Kerry Porth, Chair, Board of Directors.

As individuals:

K. Brian McConaghy, Director, Ratanak International;

Ed Smith;

Linda Smith.

Mothers Against Trafficking Humans (M.A.T.H):

Glendene Grant, Founder.

Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network:

Stéphanie Claivaz-Loranger, Senior Policy Analyst;

Kara Gillies, Member.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Leo Russomanno, Member and Criminal Defence Counsel.


Casandra Diamond, Director.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

Graeme Hamilton, Representative;

Nana Yanful, Representative.

London Abused Women's Centre:

Megan Walker, Executive Director.

Sextrade 101:

Natasha Falle, Founder;

Bridget Perrier, Co-Founder, First Nations Educator.

Northern Women's Connection:

Larissa Crack, Founder, Director;

Cheryl Link, Assistant Director.

Concertation des luttes contre l'exploitation sexuelle:

Diane Matte, Coordinator.

As individuals:

Terri-Jean Bedford, Respondent/appellant on cross-appeal, Canada v. Bedford (2007);

Frances Mahon, lawyer, Sack Goldblatt Mitchell LLP;

Janine Benedet, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of British Columbia (by video conference);

Gwendoline Allison, Lawyer, Foy Allison Law Group;

Sex Professionals of Canada:

Valerie Scott, Legal Coordinator.

EVE (Formerly Exploited Voices now Educating):

Trisha Baptie, Community engagement coordinator (by video conference);

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Vancouver Rape Relief and Women's Shelter:

Keira Smith-Tague, Front Line Anti-Violence Worker.

Canadian Association of Sexual Assault Centres:

Lisa Steacy, Representative;

Michèle Léveillé, Member, Gatineau.

As individuals:

Chris Bruckert, Professor, Department of Criminology, University of Ottawa;

Maxime Durocher, escort for women;

Tyler Megarry, street worker, Sex Workers Program, RÉZO;

Chris Atchison, Research Associate, Department of Sociology, University of Victoria.

Maggie's — Toronto Sex Workers' Action Project:

Nicole Matte, Vice-Chair, Board of Directors;

Jean McDonald, Executive Director.

Stella, l'Amie de Maimie:

Anna-Aude Caouette, Spokesperson.

Coalition of Body Rub Parlours of the Greater Toronto Area:

Konstadia Spooner, Representative.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable George Baker, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Batters, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Dagenais, Frum, Jaffer, Joyal, P.C., McInnis, McIntyre, Plett, Rivest

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)