Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable BOB RUNCIMAN

Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014

Issue No. 18

First and second meetings on:

Bill C-279, An Act to amend the Canadian Human Rights Act and the Criminal Code (gender identity)

Second meeting on:

The document entitled Proposals to correct certain anomalies, inconsistencies and errors and to deal with other matters of a non-controversial and uncomplicated nature in the Statutes of Canada and to repeal certain provisions that have expired, lapsed or otherwise ceased to have effect


Thursday, October 2, 2014

Randall Garrison, M.P. for Esquimalt—Juan de Fuca, sponsor of the bill;

The Honourable Senator Grant Mitchell, sponsor of the bill in the Senate.

As an individual:

Gerald D. Chipeur, Partner, Miller Thomson LLP.

Siksika Health Services:

Suzanne McLeod, Special Projects, Lead.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Justice Canada:

Jean-Charles BĂ©langer, Deputy Chief Legislative Counsel, Legislation Section;

Claudette Rondeau, Legislative Counsel, Legislation Section;

Julie Ladouceur, Legislative Counsel.

Transport Canada:

Alain Langlois, Senior Legal Counsel, Team Leader;

Sylvain Lachance, Director General, Marine Safety;

Tom Oomen, Director, Highway, Border and Motor Carrier Policy.

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Egale Canada:

Ryan Dyck, Director of Research and Policy.

As individuals:

Jesse Thompson (by video conference);

Michael Crystal, Barrister, Crystal & Associates.

REAL Women of Canada:

Diane Watts, Researcher.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association:

Noa Mendelsohn Aviv, Director, Equality Program.

Ottawa Police Service:

Superintendant Don Sweet, Criminal Investigations Directorate;

David Snoddy, Director of Community Development.


The Honourable Bob Runciman, Chair

The Honourable George Baker, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Batters, Boisvenu, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Dagenais, Frum, Joyal, P.C., McInnis, McIntyre, Mitchell, Plett, Rivest

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Mitchell replaced the Honourable Senator Jaffer (October 9, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Jaffer replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (September 29, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (September 25, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Ngo (September 25, 2014).