Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on 
Fisheries and Oceans

Issue 9 - Minutes of Proceedings - Afternoon sitting

GANDER, Tuesday, May 27, 2014


The Standing Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans met in public this day, at 1:15 p.m., in Salon F of The Albatross Hotel, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador, the chair, the Honourable Fabian Manning, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Lovelace Nicholas, Manning, McInnis, Munson, Poirier, Raine and Wells (7).

In attendance: Odette Madore, Analyst, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament, and Ceri Au, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate of the Senate.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Monday, December 9, 2013, the committee continued its study on the regulation of aquaculture, current challenges and future prospects for the industry in Canada. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 2.)


Sunrise Fish Farms Inc.:

Dr. Laura Halfyard, General Manager.

Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association:

Miranda Pryor, Executive Director.

Badger Bay Mussel Farms Ltd.:

Rebecca White, Project Manager.

Town of St. Alban's, Newfoundland and Labrador:

Jamie LeRoux, Mayor.

Town of Harbour Breton, Newfoundland and Labrador:

Roy Drake, Mayor.

As individuals:

Danny Boyce, Facility and Business Manager, Ocean Sciences Centre, Memorial University of Newfoundland;

Dr. Jillian Westcott, Aquaculture Instructor and Researcher, School of Fisheries, Fisheries and Marine Institute, Memorial University;

Cyr Couturier, Research Scientist and Chair, Aquaculture Programs, Fisheries and Marine Institute, Memorial University.

Newfoundland Aquaculture Industry Association:

Darrell Green, Research and Development Coordinator.

Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly:

Jim Bennett, member of the House of Assembly for St. Barbe.

Salmonid Council of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Donald L. Hutchens, President.

Newfoundland and Labrador Outfitters Association:

Tony Tuck, Chair, Fishing Committee.

Ms. Pryor, Dr. Halfyard and Ms. White each made a statement and answered questions.

At 2:20 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 2:32 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mayor LeRoux and Mayor Drake each made a statement and answered questions.

At 3:10 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 3:25 p.m., the committee resumed.

Ms. Westcott, Messrs. Boyce, Couturier and Green each made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:40 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:48 p.m., the committee resumed.

Messrs. Bennett, Tuck and Hutchens each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:53 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxwell Hollins

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top