Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable MOBINA S. B. JAFFER

Monday, March 3, 2014

Issue No. 3

Second meeting on:

Monitor issues relating to human rights and, inter alia, to review the machinery of government dealing with Canada's international and national human rights obligations

Second meeting on:

Study of the issue of cyberbullying in Canada with regard to Canada's international human rights obligations under Article 19 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child

First meeting on:

Study the international mechanisms toward improving cooperation in the settlement of cross-border family disputes, including Canada's actions to encourage universal adherence to and compliance with the Hague Abductions Convention, and to strengthen cooperation with non-Hague State Parties with the purpose of upholding children's best interests


Public Safety Canada:

Bobby Matheson, Director General, Crime Prevention Directorate.

Justice Canada:

Donald Piragoff, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Sector;

Elizabeth Hendy, Senior Director, Policy Implementation Directorate;

Hana Hruska, Director, Programs & Corporate Affairs, Youth Justice and Strategic Initiatives Section.

As individuals (by video conference):

Nicholas Bala, Professor, Faculty of Law, Queen's University;

Siu Ming Kwok, Associate Professor, King's University College at Western University.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

Lisa Pomerant;

Emma Rhodes.

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director.


The Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Eggleton, P.C., Hubley, Meredith, Ngo, Seidman, Unger

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (February 4, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Ngo replaced the Honourable Senator LeBreton, P.C. (February 4, 2014).