Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Social Affairs, Science and Technology

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14


Wednesday, March 26, 2014
Thursday, March 27, 2014

Issue No. 9

Twelfth and thirteenth meetings on:

Study on prescription pharmaceuticals in Canada


Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Canadian Pharmacists Association:

Janet Cooper, Senior Director, Membership and Professional Affairs;

Phil Emberley, Director, Pharmacy Innovation.

Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada:

Fleur-Ange Lefebvre, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Medical Association:

Owen Adams, Vice-president, Health Policy and Research;

Millicent Toombs, Director, Public Health Department.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences:

Dr. David Juurlink, Head, Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre.

As an individual:

Michal Abrahamowicz, James McGill Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics & Occupational Health, McGill University.


The Honourable Kelvin Kenneth Ogilvie, Chair

The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C., Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Chaput, Cordy, *Cowan (or Fraser), Eaton, Enverga, Lang, Munson, Nancy Ruth, Segal, Seidman, Seth

* Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (March 26, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (March 26, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Dyck (March 26, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Tannas replaced the Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (March 25, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (March 25, 2014).

Back to top