Skip to content
TRCM - Standing Committee

Transport and Communications

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Transport and Communications

Second Session, Forty-first Parliament, 2013-14

Chair: The Honourable DENNIS DAWSON

Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Issue No. 9

Nineteenth, twentieth, twenty-first and twenty-second meetings:

Examine the challenges faced by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in relation to the changing environment of broadcasting and communications


Tuesday, October 21, 2014

As an individual:

Kelly Toughill, Director and Associate Professor, School of Journalism, University of King's College.

Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse:

Marie-Claude Rioux, Executive Director.

Société de l'Acadie du Nouveau-Brunswick:

Bruno Godin, Executive Director.

Federation of Francophones of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Cyrilda Poirier, President.

CJRI Radio:

Ross Ingram, Owner and Manager.

Tell Tale Productions Inc.:

Edward Peill, President.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation:

Denise Wilson, Senior Managing Director - Atlantic Canada;

Richard Simoens, Director of French Services - Acadie.

Arcadia Productions:

John Wesley Chisholm, Creative Director.

Boyne Clarke LLP, Lawyers:

John A. Young, Q.C., Lawyer.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Syndicat des employé(e)s de bureau et professionnel(le)s de Radio-Canada:

Isabelle Doyon, President, SCFP Local 675.

Syndicat des technicien(ne)s et artisan(e)s du réseau français de Radio-Canada:

Adrien Caissie, Local President - Moncton, SCFP Local 5757.

Canadian Union of Public Employees:

Nathalie Blais, Research Advisor.

Voice of English-speaking Québec:

Jean-Sébastien Gignac, Executive Director.

Megantic English-Speaking Community Development Corporation:

Ann Marie Laughrea Powell, President.

Confédération des syndicats nationaux:

Jean Lortie, Corporate Secretary;

François Enault, Assistant to the Executive Committee.

Fédération nationale des communications:

Pierre Roger, President.


Mériol Lehmann, Chief Executive Officer.

Productions Claude Thibodeau inc.:

Claude Thibodeau, President.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Rogers Media Inc.:

Keith Pelley, President, Media Business Unit;

Susan Wheeler, Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs Media.

TekSavvy Solutions Inc.:

Bram Abramson, Chief Legal and Regulatory Officer.

The Rosemond Company:

Perry Rosemond, Producer, Director and Writer.

Fair Pensions For All:

William Tufts, Executive Director;

Gene Dziadyk, Technical Advisor.

Microsoft Canada:

John Weigelt, National Technology Officer.

As individuals:

John P. Roman;

Kady MacDonald Denton.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

McCarthy Tétrault:

Peter S. Grant, Counsel.

HonestReporting Canada:

Mike Fegelman, Executive Director.

University of Toronto Community Radio Inc.:

Ken Stowar, Station Manager.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation/Société Radio-Canada:

Michel Cormier, Executive Director, News and Current Affairs, French Services.

Jennifer McGuire, General Manager and Editor in Chief, CBC News.


The Honourable Dennis Dawson, Chair

The Honourable Leo Housakos, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

*Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), *Cowan (or Fraser), Demers, Eggleton, P.C., Greene, Hervieux-Payette, P.C., MacDonald, Munson, Plett, Unger, Verner, P.C.

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Munson replaced the Honourable Senator Cordy (October 27, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Cordy replaced the Honourable Senator Mercer (October 17, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Hervieux-Payette, P.C., replaced the Honourable Senator Merchant (October 14, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Unger replaced the Honourable Senator Maltais (October 9, 2014).

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Dagenais (October 9, 2014).

Back to top