Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016 
Wednesday, March 23, 2016 (in camera)
Thursday, March 24, 2016

Issue No. 3

Seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth meetings:

Study on foreign relations and international trade generally

First meeting:

Study on opportunities for strengthening cooperation with Mexico since the tabling, in June 2015, of the committee report entitled North American Neighbours: Maximizing Opportunities and Strengthening Cooperation for a more Prosperous Future

First meeting:

Study on recent political and economic developments in Argentina in the context of their potential impact on regional and global dynamics, including on Canadian policy and interests, and other related matters


Wednesday, March 9, 2016

As individuals:

Richard Ouellet, Full Professor of International Economic Law, Law Faculty and Graduate Institute of International Studies, Laval University (by video conference);

Gus Van Harten, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University;

Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law and Full Professor, Faculty of Law - Common Law Section, University of Ottawa.

The Conference Board of Canada:

Jacqueline Palladini, Senior Economist, Global Commerce Centre.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Export Development Canada:

Andrea Tunney, Regional Vice-President for the Americas.

As individuals:

William Browder, Head of the International Justice Campaign for Sergeï Magnitski and Author of Red Notice;

Zhanna Nemtsova, Deutsche Welle Correspondent and Founder of the Boris Nemtsov Foundation for Freedom;

Vladimir Kara-Murza, Coordinator, Open Russia, and Deputy Leader of People's Freedom Party.

Thursday, March 24, 2016

As individuals:

Jim Balsillie, Former Chairman and co-CEO of Research In Motion (RIM) (by video conference);

Bernard Colas, Attorney and Partner, Colas Moreira Kazandjian Zikovsky LLP (CMKZ);

Matthew Kronby, Lawyer and Partner, International Trade, Investment and Foreign Business Transactions, Bennett Jones Toronto (by video conference).


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cordy, Dawson, *Harder, Housakos, Johnson, Marshall, Ngo, Rivard, Smith (Cobourg), P.C., Wells

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Marshall replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (March 24, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Wells replaced the Honourable Senator Poirier (March 24, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (March 22, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Johnson replaced the Honourable Senator Beyak (March 11, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Housakos replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (March 9, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (March 9, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator Johnson (March 8, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (March 4, 2016).