Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017

Issue No. 22

Fourth and fifth meetings:
Bill C-30, An Act to implement the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union and its Member States and to provide for certain other measures


Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Corinne Pohlmann, Senior Vice President, National Affairs.

Business Council of Canada:

Brian Kingston, Vice President, Policy, International and Fiscal.

Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers' Association:

Mark Nantais, President.

Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association:

Jim Keon, President;

Jody Cox, Vice-president, Federal and International Affairs.

Innovative Medicines Canada:

Declan Hamil, Vice-President, Legal, Regulatory and Policy;

Lesia Babiak, Executive Director, Worldwide Government Affairs and Policy (Canada); Johnson & Johnson, Family of Companies in Canada.

Thursday, April 13, 2017

As individuals:

Pierre Marc Johnson, Chief Negotiator of the Government of Québec for the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) and Counsel, Lavery de Billy;

Armand de Mestral, Professor Emeritus, Jean Monnet Chair in the Law of International Economic Integration, McGill University (by video conference);

Jeremy de Beer, Full Professor, University of Ottawa - Faculty of Law;

Gus Van Harten, Associate Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School, York University.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Angella MacEwen, Senior Economist, Social and Economic Policy Department.

International Transport Workers' Federation:

Peter Lahay, National Coordinator;

Terry Engler, President, Local 400 - Marine Section, International Longshore and Warehouse Union.


Jerry Dias, National President;

Angelo DiCaro, National Representative.

Seafarers' International Union of Canada:

James Given, President.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Percy E. Downe, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Ataullahjan, Bovey, Cools, Cordy, Dawson, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Housakos, Manning, Marwah, Ngo, Oh, Saint-Germain, *Smith, (or Martin), Woo

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (April 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Eaton (April 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator Ataullahjan (April 11, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (April 7, 2017).