Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018

Issue No. 46

First and second meetings:
Subject matter of those elements contained in Division 8 of Part 6 of Bill C-74, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018 and other measures

(The subject matter of Bill C-45b An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to Canada's international obligations)


Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Ministère des Finances Canada :

Michèle Govier, directrice principale, Direction des finances et échanges internationaux;

Léticia Villeneuve, économiste, Règles du commerce international, Direction des finances et échanges internationaux.

Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur :

Jean Bédard, c.r., président.

Thursday, May 10, 2018

United Steelworkers:

Mark Rowlinson, Assistant to the National Director (by video conference).

Canadian Labour Congress:

Chris Roberts, Director, Social and Economic Policy.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Bovey, Cordy, Dawson, *Day (or Mercer), Eaton, Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Martin, Massicotte, Ngo, Saint-Germain, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Eaton replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (May 10, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Housakos (May 10, 2018).