Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Foreign Affairs and International Trade

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable A. RAYNELL ANDREYCHUK

Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018

Issue No. 49

Nineteenth and twentieth meetings:
Study on the impact and utilization of Canadian culture and arts in Canadian foreign policy and diplomacy, and other related matters

Forty-first meeting:
Study on foreign relations and international trade generally


Wednesday, September 19, 2018

As individuals:

John Ralston Saul, Essayist and Novelist;

Diego Enrique Arria Salicetti, Former Permanent Representative of Venezuela to the UN;

Tamara Sulay Suju Roa, Executive Director of Casla Institute, Czech Republic;

Antonio José Ledezma Diaz, Former Mayor of Caracas.

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Commission internationale du théâtre francophone:

Guylaine Normandin, Director, Supporting Artistic Practice (Canada Council for the Arts);

Sylvain Cornuau, Secretary-General.

National Arts Centre:

Jayne Watson, Chief Executive Officer, National Arts Centre Foundation.


The Honourable A. Raynell Andreychuk, Chair

The Honourable Paul J. Massicotte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Bovey, Cordy, Dawson, *Day (or Mercer), Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Housakos, Ngo, Oh, Saint-Germain, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Bovey replaced the Honourable Senator Miville-Dechêne (September 20, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Miville-Dechêne replaced the Honourable Senator Bovey (September 19, 2018).