Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Aboriginal Peoples

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LILLIAN EVA DYCK

Tuesday, November 15, 2016 (in camera)
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Issue No. 13

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)


First and second meetings:

Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Indian Act (elimination of sex-based inequities in registration)


Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Joëlle Montminy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector;

Candice St-Aubin, Executive Director, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector;

Nathalie Nepton, Executive Director, Indian Registration and Integrated Program Management;

Effie Panousos, Senior Policy Analyst, Treaties and Aboriginal Government Sector.

Department of Justice Canada:

Martin Reiher, General Counsel.

As an individual:

Stéphane Descheneaux, Plaintiff: Descheneaux v. Canada (Attorney General), The Abenaki of Odanak.

The Abenaki of Odanak:

Tammy Yantha, Plaintiff: Descheneaux v. Canada (Attorney General), The Abenaki of Odanak.

Dionne Schulze:

David Schulze, Counsel for the plaintiffs and for the intervenors the Council of Abenaki of Odanak and the Council of Abenaki of Wôlinak: Descheneaux v. Canada (Attorney General).

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Assembly of First Nations:

Perry Bellegarde, National Chief;

Denise Stonefish, Deputy Grand Chief and Chair, Assembly of First Nations Women's Council (by video conference);

Stuart Wuttke, General Counsel.

Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC):

Lynne Groulx, Executive Director;

Francyne Joe, President;

Marilee Nowgesic, Special Advisor and Liaison.


The Honourable Lillian Eva Dyck, Chair

The Honourable Dennis Glen Patterson, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Beyak, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Enverga, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Martin, Meredith, Moore, Oh, Raine, Sinclair, Tannas, Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Watt replaced the Honourable Senator Lovelace Nicholas (November 23, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Ngo (October 25, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Beyak replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (October 25, 2016).