Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable DAVID TKACHUK

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016

Issue No. 7

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)

First (final) meeting:

Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Copyright Act (access to copyrighted works or other subject-matter for persons with perceptual disabilities)

Ninth meeting:

Study on the present state of the domestic and international financial system

(Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Copyright Act (access to copyrighted works or other subject-matter for persons with perceptual disabilities), without amendment)


The Honourable Navdeep Bains, P.C., M.P., Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development


Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Paul Halucha, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Sector;

Robert Dupelle, Senior Policy Advisor, Marketplace Framework Policy Branch.

As an individual:

The Honourable Pierre Poilievre, P.C., Member of Parliament for Carleton, Ontario.

Canadian National Institute for the Blind:

Diane Bergeron, Executive Director, Strategic Relations and Engagement;

Thomas Simpson, Specialist, Operations and Government Affairs.

Canadian Library Association:

Victoria Owen, Member, Policy Committee.

Canadian Association of Research Libraries:

Susan Haigh, Executive Director.

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Jean-Denis Fréchette, Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Scott Cameron, Economic Analyst/Advisor;

Chris Matier, Senior Director, Economic Analysis and Forecasting.


The Honourable David Tkachuk, Chair

The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Black, Campbell, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Cowan, Enverga, Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Massicotte, Ringuette, Smith, Tannas

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Unger (June 9, 2016).