Skip to Content
Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Banking, Trade and Commerce

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable DAVID TKACHUK

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016

Issue No. 9

Consideration of a draft agenda (future business)

Fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh meetings:

Study and report on the development of a national corridor in Canada as a means of enhancing and facilitating commerce and internal trade

First and second meetings:

Study, and make recommendations on, the operation and practices of the Copyright Board of Canada


Wednesday, October 26, 2016

First Nations Major Projects Coalition:

Chief Joseph Bevan, Chair;

Chief Corrina Leween, Member;

Angel Ransom, Councillor and Member;

Del Nattrass, Economic and Financial Advisor.

First Nations Financial Management Board:

Harold Calla, Executive Chair.

Thursday, October 27, 2016

As an individual:

Ian Satchwell, Senior Fellow, Perth USAsia Centre (by video conference).

Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada:

Martin Lavallée, Legal Counsel, Director, Licensing and Legal Affairs.

Google Canada:

Jason J. Kee, Public Policy and Government Relations Counsel.

Canadian Musical Reproduction Rights Agency:

Caroline Rioux, President.

Access Copyright:

Erin Finlay, Director, Legal and Government Relations, General Counsel.

Music Canada:

Graham Henderson, President and CEO.

Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada:

Gilles Daigle, General Counsel, Legal Services.

Canadian Music Publishers Association:

Margaret McGuffin, Executive Director.

Re:Sound Music Licensing Company:

Ian MacKay, President.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Copyright Board of Canada:

Claude Majeau, Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer;

Gilles McDougall, Secretary General.

As individuals:

Michael A. Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa - Faculty of Law.

Paul Daly, Senior Lecturer in Public Law, University of Cambridge and the Derek Bowett Fellow in Law, Queens' College, Cambridge (by video conference).

Ariel Katz, Associate Professor, Innovation Chair—Electronic Commerce, University of Toronto - Faculty of Law.

Jeremy de Beer, Full Professor, University of Ottawa - Faculty of Law.

Daniel Glover, Partner, Intellectual Property, McCarthy Tétrault LLP.

Howard P. Knopf, Counsel, Macera & Jarzyna LLP/Moffat & Co Patent & TM Agents.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

As an individual:

Jack Mintz, President's Fellow, The School of Public Policy, University of Calgary.

Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers:

Jonathan Stringham, Manager — Fiscal Policy.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada:

Sheilagh Murphy, Assistant Deputy Minister, Lands and Economic Development;

Bruno Steinke, Director, Consultation and Accommodation Unit.

As an individual:

Honorary Lieutenant-General Richard Rohmer, Canadian Armed Forces.


The Honourable David Tkachuk, Chair

The Honourable Joseph A. Day, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Black, Campbell, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Enverga, Greene, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Lang, Massicotte, Ringuette, Smith

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (November 17, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Tannas (November 15, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Enverga replaced the Honourable Senator Patterson (October 27, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Patterson replaced the Honourable Senator MacDonald (October 27, 2016).

The Honourable Senator MacDonald replaced the Honourable Senator Enverga (October 25, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Greene replaced the Honourable Senator Marshall (October 20, 2016).