Skip to content
POFO - Standing Committee

Fisheries and Oceans

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Fisheries and Oceans

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable FABIAN MANNING

Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017

Issue No. 16

Eleventh and twelfth meetings:

Bill S-203, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and other Acts (ending the captivity of whales and dolphins)


Tuesday, May 16, 2017


John Holer, President and Owner (by video conference);

Andrew Burns, Legal Counsel to Marineland, Hunt Partners LLP, Barristers & Solicitors.

Niagara Falls Tourism:

Wayne Thomson, Chairman (by video conference).

Thursday, May 18, 2017

As an individual:

Alan Latourelle, Former Chief Executive Officer, Parks Canada.


The Honourable Fabian Manning, Chair

The Honourable Elizabeth Hubley, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Christmas, Dawson, Enverga, Forest, Gold, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, McCoy, McInnis, Plett, Poirier, Raine, Sinclair, *Smith (or Martin), Watt

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Raine replaced the Honourable Senator Martin (May 18, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Martin replaced the Honourable Senator Raine (May 16, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Christmas replaced the Honourable Senator Pate (May 15, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Poirier replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (May 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Dawson replaced the Honourable Senator Munson (May 11, 2017).




Back to top