Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable JIM MUNSON

Monday, May 15, 2017
Thursday, May 18, 2017

Issue No. 18

Ninth and tenth meetings:
Study on the issues relating to the human rights of prisoners in the correctional system


Monday, May 15, 2017

Canadian Families and Corrections Network:

Margaret Holland, Ontario Co-ordinator, Visitor Resource Centres.

John Howard Society of Canada:

Catherine Latimer, Executive Director;

Lawrence DaSilva, Former Federal Prisoner.

As individuals:

Sean Ellacott, LL.B., Director, Prison Law Clinic, Faculty of Law, Queen's University;

Julie Langan;

Katheryn Wabegijig.

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Relais Famille:

Isabelle Parent, President of the Board of Directors;

Kim Parisé, Coordinator.

Elizabeth Fry Society of Quebec:

Ruth Gagnon, Director General.

DESTA Black Youth Network:

Will Prosper;

Pharaoh Hamid Freeman, Executive Director.

As individuals:

Rene Callahan-St John;

Maggie Smith;

Parker Finley.


The Honourable Jim Munson, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Andreychuk, Bernard, Eaton, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Hartling, Martin, McPhedran, Ngo, Omidvar, Pate, *Smith (or Martin)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Jaffer was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (May 15, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Ngo replaced the Honourable Senator Ogilvie (May 12, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Omidvar replaced the Honourable Senator Bovey (May 11, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Jaffer replaced the Honourable Senator Hubley (May 10, 2017).