Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Human Rights

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18


Monday, March 26, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Issue No. 27

Twenty-fifth meeting:
Study on the issues relating to the human rights of prisoners in the correctional system


First meeting:
Bill C-66, An Act to establish a procedure for expunging certain historically unjust convictions and to make related amendments to other Acts


Monday, March 26, 2018

Regional Ethnocultural Advisory Committee:

Theresa Halfkenny, Chair, Atlantic Region, Correctional Service Canada.

Word in Action Ministry International:

Reverend Mark Colley.

As individuals:

El Jones, Nancy's Chair in Women's Studies, Mount Saint Vincent University;

Archibald Kaiser, Professor, Schulich School of Law and Department of Psychiatry, Dalhousie University;

Adelina Iftene, Assistant Professor, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University;

The Honourable Pamela Williams, Chief Judge, Provincial and Family Courts of Nova Scotia;

Heather Finn-Vincent, Parole Officer, Correctional Service Canada;

Treena Smith;

Ifo Ikede;

Bernadette Hamilton-Reid.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Criminal Lawyers' Association:

Angela Chaisson, Defence Counsel, Chaisson Law;

Maya Borooah, Defence Counsel, Henein Hutchison.

As individuals:

Tom Hooper, Contract Faculty, Department of History, York University;

Gary Kinsman, Professor Emeritus, Sociology, Laurentian University;

James Lockyer, Senior Counsel, Innocence Canada;

Ronald Rosenes, C.M., Community Health Advocate and Board Chair, Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network.

Quebec Gay Archives:

Jacques Prince, President, Board of Governors;

Ross Higgins, Member, Board of Governors and Head of Collections.

Just Society Committee:

Martine Roy, Member.


The Honourable Wanda Elaine Thomas Bernard, Chair

The Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Jane Cordy, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Cormier, *Day (or Mercer), *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Hartling, Martin, Ngo, Pate, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Cormier replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (April 10, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Brazeau replaced the Honourable Senator Wallin (March 28, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Wallin replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (March 27, 2018).