Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, March 19, 2018

Issue No. 21

First meeting:
Election of a second deputy chair

First meeting:
Subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to Canada's borders


As individuals:

Gil Kerlikowske, former Commissioner, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (by video conference).

Brookings Institution:

John Hudak, Deputy Director, Center for Effective Public Management.

As an individual:

Len Saunders, Attorney at Law.

Canada Border Services Agency:

Peter Hill, Associate Vice-President, Programs Branch.

Global Affairs Canada:

Kevin Thompson, Director General, North America Strategy Bureau.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Jamie Solesme, Superintendent, Federal Policing, Criminal Operations.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Day (or Mercer), Dean, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Dean replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (March 19, 2018).

Back to top