Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, April 16, 2018

Issue No. 23

Third meeting:
Subject matter of Bill C-45, An Act respecting cannabis and to amend the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act, the Criminal Code and other Acts, insofar as it relates to Canada's borders

Sixteenth meeting:
Examine and report on Canada's national security and defence policies, practices, circumstances and capabilities


City of Windsor:

His Worship Drew Dilkens, Mayor (by video conference).

As an individual:

Scott Railton, Attorney (by video conference).

Canadian Trucking Alliance:

Jonathan Blackham, Director, Policy and Public Affairs;

Lak Shoan, Director, Policy and Industry Awareness Programs.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Day (or Mercer), Gold, Griffin, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), McIntyre, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Brazeau (April 16, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Smith replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (April 16, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Griffin replaced the Honourable Senator McPhedran (April 10, 2018).

The Honourable Senator McPhedran replaced the Honourable Senator Dean (March 27, 2018).

Back to top