Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, February 25, 2019

Issue No. 37

Third meeting:
Bill C-71, An Act to amend certain Acts and Regulations in relation to firearms


Monday, February 25, 2019

Groupe des étudiants et diplômés de Polytechnique pour le contrôle des armes (Polysesouvient):

Heidi Rathjen, Coordinator;

Nathalie Provost, Spokesperson.

Islamic Cultural Centre of Quebec City:

Boufeldja Benabdallah, President and Co-Founder.

Canadian Paediatric Society:

Dr. Natasha Saunders, Physician, Hospital for Sick Children.


Wendy Vasquez, Spokesperson.

Silverdale Gun Club:

Dave Partanen, Spokesperson.

Toronto Firearm Safety Services:

Marty Kerluck, Owner.

Association québécoise de prévention du suicide:

Jérôme Gaudreault, Director General.

Coalition for Gun Control:

Dr. Barbara Kane, Psychiatrist.

As individuals:

Gary Mauser, Professor Emeritus, Simon Fraser University;

Dr. Caillin Langmann, Assistant Clinical Professor of Medicine, McMaster University;

Irwin M. Cohen, Director, Centre for Public Safety and Criminal Justice Research, University of the Frasier Valley (by video conference).

Canadian Sporting Arms and Ammunition Association:

Wes Winkel, President;

Alison de Groot, Director.

Firearms Outlet Canada:

Adam Caruana, Director.

Wolverine Supplies:

Matthew Hipwell.

As individuals:

Jooyoung Lee, Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Toronto;

Brian Mishara, Professor, Department of Psychology, Université du Québec à Montréal.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Day (or Mercer), Griffin, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Kutcher, McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Kutcher replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (February 21, 2019).

Back to top