Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, April 1, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Issue No. 39

Fifth and sixth meetings:
Bill C-71, An Act to amend certain Acts and Regulations in relation to firearms


The Honourable Bill Blair, P.C., M.P., Minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction


Monday, April 1, 2019

Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians:

Dr. Alan Drummond, Co-chair, Public Affairs Committee;

Dr. Howard Ovens, Member, Public Affairs Committee.

Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions:

Linda Silas, President.

Access Heritage:

Robert Henderson, Owner.

The Gun Dealer:

Ross Faulkner, Owner.

Association of Women Shooters of P.E.I.:

Kate MacQuarrie.

Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters:

Matt DeMille, Manager, Fish and Wildlife Services;

Brian McRae, Senior Advisor.

B.C. Wildlife Federation:

Chuck Zuckerman, Chairperson, BCWF Firearms and Recreational Sport Shooting Committee (by video conference).

Canadian Anti-Hate Network:

Bernie Farber, Chair.

As an individual :

Eleanore Sunchild, Counsel, Sunchild Law.

Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police:

Chief Adam Palmer, President (by video conference);

Chief Evan Bray, Co-chair, Special Purpose Committee on Firearms (by video conference).

Government of British Columbia:

Wayne Rideout, Deputy Director, Drugs and Organized Crime Awareness Service (by video conference).

Alberta Arms and Cartridge Collectors Association:

Teri Bryant.

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

As an individual:

Dr. Michael Ackermann, Rural Family Medicine (by video conference).

Movie Armaments Group:

Charles Taylor, Managing Director.

Public Safety Canada:

Randall Koops, Director General, Policing Policy.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police:

Kellie Paquette, Director General, Canadian Firearms Program;

Robert Mackinnon, Director, Firearms Business Improvement Directorate.

Department of Justice Canada:

Alexandra Budgell, Team Leader and Senior Counsel.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Day (or Mercer), Gold, Griffin, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator McPhedran replaced the Honourable Senator Kutcher (April 2, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Gold replaced the Honourable Senator Busson (April 2, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Busson replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (April 1, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Kutcher replaced the Honourable Senator McPhedran (April 1, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Wells (March 19, 2019).

Back to top