Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Security and Defence

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18-19

Chair: The Honourable GWEN BONIFACE

Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019

Issue No. 41

Second and third meetings:
Bill C-59, An Act respecting national security matters


Monday, April 29, 2019

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada:

Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada;

Kate Wilson, Legal Counsel, Legal Services Directorate.

As an individual:

Leah West, Lecturer (incoming), Norman Patterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University.

Canadian Civil Liberties Association:

Brenda McPhail, Director, Privacy, Technology and Surveillance Program;

Cara Zwibel, Director, Fundamental Freedoms Program.

As individuals:

Errol Mendes, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa;

Craig Forcese, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa;

Michael Nesbitt, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Calgary.

Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs:

Shimon Fogel, Chief Executive Officer.

B'Nai Brith Canada:

Michael Mostyn, Chief Executive Officer;

Steven G. Slimovitch, National Legal Counsel.

As individuals:

Wesley Wark, Visiting Professor, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, University of Ottawa;

The Honourable Hugh D. Segal, Principal, Massey College, University of Toronto and Chair, NATO Association of Canada.

Thursday, May 2, 2019

Office of the Communications Security Establishment Commissioner:

The Honourable Jean-Pierre Plouffe, Commissioner;

Guylaine A. Dansereau, Executive Director;

Gérard Normand, Special Legal Advisor.

Security Intelligence Review Committee:

The Honourable Pierre Blais, P.C., Chair;

Chantelle Bowers, Acting Executive Director;

Darryl Hirsch, Director of Research.


The Honourable Gwen Boniface, Chair

The Honourable Jean-Guy Dagenais, Deputy Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Boisvenu, *Day (or Mercer), Griffin, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), McIntyre, McPhedran, Oh, Plett, Pratte, Richards, *Smith (or Martin), Wallin, *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the orders of the Senate of November 7, 2017 and of November 20, 2018, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (May 1, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Wallin replaced the Honourable Senator Gold (May 1, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Manning replaced the Honourable Senator Plett (April 25, 2019).

The Honourable Senator Plett replaced the Honourable Senator Stewart Olsen (May 2, 2019).

Back to top