Skip to content
ENEV - Standing Committee

Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Issue No. 67 - Minutes of Proceedings - April 26, 2019 (afternoon meeting)

QUEBEC CITY, Friday, April 26, 2019


The Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources met this day at 1:02 p.m., in Duquesne Room, Delta Hotel Quebec, the chair, the Honourable Senator Rosa Galvez, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Carignan, P.C., Galvez, MacDonald, Massicotte, Mercer, Miville-Dechêne, Patterson, Pratte and Simons (9).

In attendance: Sam Banks and Jesse Good, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, December 12, 2018, the committee continued its consideration of Bill C-69, An Act to enact the Impact Assessment Act and the Canadian Energy Regulator Act, to amend the Navigation Protection Act and to make consequential amendments to other acts. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 54.)



André-Martin Bouchard, World Director, Environment and Resources, WSP Global Inc.;

Martin Larose, Vice-President, Environment and Operations, Quebec, WSP Canada Inc..

As an individual:

Louis-Gilles Francœur, Environmental Journalist and Former Vice-President of the Bureau d'audiences publiques du Québec.

Association québécoise pour l'évaluation d'impacts:

Yves Comtois, Member and Lecturer, University of Sherbrooke.

La Planète s'invite à l'Université:

Sami Jai Wagner Beaulieu, Representative;

Andréane Moreau, Representative.

Association québécoise de lutte contre la pollution atmosphérique:

André Bélisle, Chair.

Mr. Bouchard and Mr. Francœur each made a statement and, with Mr. Larose, answered questions.

At 2:03 p.m., it was agreed that the committee suspend.

At 2:05 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Comtois, Mr. Bélisle, Mr. Wagner Beaulieu and Ms. Moreau each made a statement and answered questions.

At 2:50 p.m., it was agreed that the committee adjourn to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin
Clerk of the Committee

Back to top