Skip to content
NFFN - Standing Committee

National Finance


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Issue No. 16 - Minutes of Proceedings - October 26, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, October 26, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:46 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Larry Smith, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Bellemare, Cools, Day, Eaton, Marshall, Mitchell, Mockler, Neufeld, Pratte and Smith (11).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Sylvain Fleury, analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 6, 2016, the committee continued its study of Bill C-2, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act.


Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives:

David Macdonald, Senior Economist.

The Conference Board of Canada:

Craig Alexander, Senior Vice President and Chief Economist.

Canadian Taxpayers Federation:

Aaron Wudrick, Federal Director.

Mr. Macdonald, Mr. Alexander and Mr. Wudrick each made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 8:23 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Gaëtane Lemay

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top