Skip to content
NFFN - Standing Committee

National Finance


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Issue No. 17 - Minutes of Proceedings - November 2, 2016

OTTAWA, Wednesday, November 2, 2016


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 12:05 p.m., in room 257, East Block, the chair, the Honourable Larry Smith, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Bellemare, Cools, Eaton, Marshall, Mockler, Neufeld, Pratte and Smith (9).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Day (1).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Sylvain Fleury, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Service, Library of Parliament.

Also in attendance: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, October 6, 2016, the committee continued its study of Bill C-2, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 16.)


The Honourable Bill Morneau, P.C., M.P., Minister of Finance.


Department of Finance Canada:

Paul Rochon, Deputy Minister;

Andrew Marsland, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch;

Pierre Leblanc, Director, Personal Income Tax Division;

Trevor McGowan, Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch.

The minister made a statement and, with Mr. Marsland, answered questions.

At 12:47 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 12:49 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. Leblanc and Mr. McGowan were invited to the table to explain the bill in detail, and answered questions.

At 13:17 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Gaëtane Lemay

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top