Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Issue No. 82 - Minutes of Proceedings - November 28, 2018 (evening meeting)

OTTAWA, Wednesday, November 28, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 6:45 p.m., in room 9, Victoria Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Andreychuk, Boehm, Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest, Forest-Niesing, Klyne, Marshall, Mockler, Moncion, Neufeld and Pratte (12).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Omidvar.

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Wednesday, November 7, 2018, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of all of Bill C-86, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018 and other measures. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee, Issue No. 81.)


Canada's Ecofiscal Commission:

Dale Beugin, Executive Director.

As an individual:

Nicholas Rivers, Associate Professor, Public and International Affairs, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Ottawa.

Imagine Canada:

Bruce MacDonald, President and Chief Executive Officer.

As an individual:

Mark Blumberg, Partner, Blumberg Segal LLP.

Miller Thomson LLP:

Susan Manwaring, Partner and Leader, Social Impact Group.

The chair made a statement.

Mr. Beugin and Mr. Rivers made statements and answered questions.

At 7:45 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:49 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mr. MacDonald, Ms. Manwaring and Mr. Blumberg made statements and answered questions.

At 8:55 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Gaëtane Lemay
Clerk of the Committee

Back to top