Skip to content
NFFN - Standing Committee

National Finance


Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

Issue No. 85 - Minutes of Proceedings - December 6, 2018

OTTAWA, Thursday, December 6, 2018


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day at 1:45 p.m., in room 160-S, Centre Block, the deputy chair, the Honourable André Pratte, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest, Forest- Niesing, Klyne, Marshall, Mockler and Pratte (9).

Other senator present: The Honourable Senator Lankin, P.C. (1).

In attendance: Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, December 4, 2018, the committee continued its study of Bill C-86, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 27, 2018 and other measures. (For complete text of the order of reference, see proceedings of the committee Issue No. 83.) (Topic: Part 4, Division 14: Pay Equity).


Canadian Human Rights Commission:

Monette Maillet, Deputy Executive Director and Senior General Counsel;

Fiona Keith, Senior Counsel.

Catalyst Canada Inc.:

Tanya van Biesen, Executive Director (by video conference).

Chartered Professionals in Human Resources Canada:

Denise Perron, Representative;

François Trottier, Representative.


Derrick Hynes, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Public Service Alliance of Canada:

Magali Picard, National Executive Vice-President;

Helen Berry, Legal Officer.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Vicky Smallman, National Director, Women's and Human Rights.

The chair made a statement.

Ms. Maillet, Ms. van Biesen and Ms. Perron each made a statement and, together with Mr. Trottier and Ms. Keith, answered questions.

At 2:47 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 2:53 p.m., the committee resumed, the chair, the Honourable Senator Mockler, in the chair.

Mr. Hynes, Ms. Picard and Ms. Smallman each made a statement and, together with Ms. Berry, answered questions.

At 3:40 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Gaëtane Lemay
Clerk of the Committee

Back to top