Skip to content
NFFN - Standing Committee

National Finance



OTTAWA, Thursday, November 12, 2020


The Standing Senate Committee on National Finance met this day by videoconference at 3:04 p.m. [ET], in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Percy Mockler, presiding. This meeting is considered to have taken place in the parliamentary precinct.

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Boehm, Dagenais, Deacon (Ontario), Duncan, Forest, Galvez, Klyne, Loffreda, Marshall, Mockler, Richards and Smith (12).

Other senator present by videoconference: The Honourable Senator Pate (1).

In attendance: Andrea Mugny, Procedural Clerk, Committees Directorate; Alex Smith and Shaowei Pu, Analysts, Parliamentary Information and Research Services, Library of Parliament.

Also present: The official reporters of the Senate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, November 5, 2020, the committee continued its examination on the subject matter of Bill C-9, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act (Canada Emergency Rent Subsidy and Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy).

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Canadian Chamber of Commerce:

Alla Drigola, Director, Parliamentary Affairs and SME Policy.

Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montreal:

Michel Leblanc, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Hotel Association of Canada:

Susie Grynol, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business:

Tabatha Bull, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Ms. Bull, Ms. Drigola, Ms. Grynol and Mr. Leblanc each made a statement and answered questions.

At 4:27 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Maxime Fortin

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top