Skip to content
LCJC - Standing Committee

Legal and Constitutional Affairs



OTTAWA, Wednesday, May 11, 2022


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs met this day in room C128, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference at 4:15 p.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Mobina S. B. Jaffer, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Batters, Boisvenu, Clement, Cotter, Dalphond, Harder, P.C., Jaffer and Pate (8).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Campbell, Dupuis, Wetston and White (4).

Participating in the meeting: Ferda Simpson, Procedural Clerk and Laurie-Anne Spooner, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Julian Walker and Michaela Keenan-Pelletier, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 31, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of Bill S-4, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Identification of Criminals Act and to make related amendments to other Acts (COVID-19 response and other measures).

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies:

Emilie Coyle, Executive Director.

Indigenous Bar Association:

Alain Bartleman, Treasurer.

Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers:

Mark Knox, Board member for Nova Scotia.

Nunavut Legal Aid:

Eva Tache-Green, Appellate counsel.

As an individual:

Cheryl Webster, Professor, Department of Criminology, University of Ottawa.

Brendyn Johnson, PhD Student, Criminology, University of Montreal.

Emilie Coyle, Alain Bartleman and Mark Knox each made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:26 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:29 p.m., the committee resumed.

Eva Tache-Green, Cheryl Webster and Brendyn Johnson each made a statement and answered questions.

At 6:29 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Mark Palmer

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top