Skip to content
OLLO - Standing Committee

Official Languages



OTTAWA, Monday, June 5, 2023


The Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages met this day at 4 p.m., in room B30, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable René Cormier, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Clement, Cormier, Dagenais, Gold, P.C., Mégie, Mockler and Moncion (7).

Other senators present: The Honourable Senators Gerba and Seidman (2).

Participating in the meeting: Marie-Ève Hudon, analyst, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, June 1, 2023, the committee began its consideration of Bill C-13, An Act to amend the Official Languages Act, to enact the Use of French in Federally Regulated Private Businesses Act and to make related amendments to other Acts.


The Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, P.C., M.P., Minister of Official Languages;

The Honourable Mona Fortier, P.C., M.P., President of the Treasury Board.


Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages:

Raymond Théberge, Commissioner of Official Languages;

Isabelle Gervais, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Assurance Branch;

Pierre Leduc, Assistant Commissioner, Policy and Communications Branch;

Pascale Giguère, General Counsel.

Quebec Community Groups Network:

Eva Ludvig, President;

The Honourable Joan Fraser, Board Member and former senator;

Marion Sandilands, Counsel.

Canadian Heritage:

Isabelle Mondou, Deputy Minister;

Julie Boyer, Assistant Deputy Minister, Official Languages, Heritage and Regions;

Sarah Boily, Director General, Official Languages.

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Carsten Quell, Executive Director, Official Languages Centre of Excellence, Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer;

Karim Adam, Director, Oversight and Compliance, Official Languages Centre of Excellence, Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer.

Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada:

Liane Roy, President;

Alain Dupuis, General Manager.

At 4:02 p.m., the Honourable Senator Moncion took the chair.

Raymond Théberge made a statement and, together with Isabelle Gervais, Pierre Leduc and Pascale Giguère, answered questions.

At 4:45 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 4:49 p.m., the committee resumed.

Eva Ludvig and the Honourable Joan Fraser made a statement together and, with Marion Sandilands, answered questions.

At 5:44 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:53 p.m., the committee resumed.

The Minister of Official Languages and the President of the Treasury Board each made a statement and, together with Karim Adam, Sarah Boily, Julie Boyer, Isabelle Mondou and Carsten Quell, answered questions.

At 6:44 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:48 p.m., the committee resumed.

At 6:59 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:04 p.m., the committee resumed.

Liane Roy made a statement and, together with Alain Dupuis, answered questions.

At 7:54 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Angus Wilson

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top