Skip to content
RIDR - Standing Committee

Human Rights



OTTAWA, Monday, March 27, 2023


The Standing Senate Committee on Human Rights met this day at 4:04 p.m., in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, the chair, the Honourable Salma Ataullahjan, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Arnot, Ataullahjan, Bernard, Hartling, Jaffer, Manning and Omidvar (7).

Participating in the meeting: Robert Mason and Brendan Naef, analysts, Library of Parliament; Amely Coulombe, Communications Officer, Communications Directorate.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Thursday, March 3, 2022, the committee continued its study of such issues as may arise from time to time relating to human rights generally. (Topic: Islamophobia in Canada)


National Security and Intelligence Review Agency (NSIRA):

The Honourable Marie Deschamps, Chair;

Foluke Laosebikan, Member;

John Davies, Executive Director, NSIRA Secretariat.

Canadian Heritage:

Mala Khanna, Associate Deputy Minister;

Gaveen Cadotte, Assistant Deputy Minister, Anti-Racism Strategy and Action Plan on Combatting Hate Sector;

Peter Flegel, Executive Director, Federal Anti-Racism Secretariat.

As an individual:

Amira Elghawaby, Canada’s Special Representative on Combatting Islamophobia.

The Honourable Marie Deschamps made a statement and, together with Foluke Laosebikan and John Davies, answered questions.

At 4:58 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the committee resumed.

Amira Elghawaby made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:55 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 6:07 p.m., the committee resumed.

Mala Khanna made a statement and, together with Gaveen Cadotte and Peter Flegel, answered questions.

At 6:59 p.m., the committee suspended.

At 7:07 p.m., pursuant to rule 12-16(1)(d), the committee resumed in camera to discuss a draft report and a draft agenda (future business).

It was agreed that the committee allow the transcription of the in camera portion of today’s meeting, that one copy be kept with the clerk of the committee for consultation by committee members present or by the committee analysts, and that the transcript be destroyed by the clerk when authorized to do so by the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure but no later than at the end of this parliamentary session.

At 7:38 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Sébastien Payet

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top