Skip to content
TRCM - Standing Committee

Transport and Communications



OTTAWA, Tuesday, June 21, 2022


Pursuant to the order of the Senate of May 5, 2022, the Standing Senate Committee on Transport and Communications met this day in room B45, Senate of Canada Building, and with videoconference, at 9:02 a.m. ET, the chair, the Honourable Leo Housakos, presiding.

Members of the committee present: The Honourable Senators Cormier, Dasko, Dawson, Klyne, Manning, Miville-Dechêne, Simons, Sorensen and Wallin (9).

Members of the committee present by videoconference: The Honourable Senators Clement, Housakos and Quinn (3).

Participating in the meeting: Shaila Anwar, Clerk Assistant and Brigitte Martineau, Administrative Assistant, Committees Directorate; Khamla Heminthavong and Jed Chong, analysts, Library of Parliament.

Pursuant to the order of reference adopted by the Senate on Tuesday, May 31, 2022, the committee continued its consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-11, An Act to amend the Broadcasting Act and to make related and consequential amendments to other Acts.

The chair made a statement informing the committee that the motion proposed in committee on June 15, 2022 by the Honourable Senator Richards was in order pursuant to Rule 12-20(1)(d), as notice of a motion is not required in committee.

WITNESSES (by videoconference):

As individuals:

The Honourable Konrad von Finckenstein, former Chair, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission;

Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa.

Alain Saulnier, Author and Retired Professor of Communication, University of Montreal;

Michèle Rioux, Professor, Political Science Department, University of Quebec in Montreal, Director of the Center for the Study of Integration and globalization.

The Honourable Konrad von Finckenstein and Michael Geist each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:05 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 10:06 a.m., the committee resumed.

Alain Saulnier and Michèle Rioux each made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the committee suspended.

At 11 a.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the chair.


Vincent Labrosse

Clerk of the Committee

Back to top