Skip to Content

Studies & Bills

Information prior to the 40th Parliament is from notices of meetings. For the official record, please refer to the related minutes and transcripts.

There are limited electronic records available for the period prior to the 35th Parliament. For historical information, please contact: ctm@sen.parl.gc.ca or 1-800-267-7362

Studies & Bills Date Referred Session  note  note
Bill C-37, An Act to implement an agreement between Canada and the Russian Federation, a convention between Canada and the Republic of South Africa, an agreement between Canada and the united Republic of Tanzania, an agrrement between Canada and the Republic of India and a convention between Canada and Ukraine, for the avoidance of double taxation and the prevention of fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income
(1997-04-24)
Thursday, April 24, 1997 at 6:05 PM
Bill C-93, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 18, 1997
(1997-04-24)
Thursday, April 24, 1997 at 6:05 PM
Bill C-92, An Act to amend the Income Tax, Act, the Income Tax Application rules and another Act related to the Income Tax Act
(1997-04-23)
Thursday, April 24, 1997 at 11:05 AM
Bill C-82, An Act to amend certain laws relating to financial institutions
(1997-04-16)
Bill C-70, An Act to amend the Excise Tac Act, the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arragements Act, the Income Tax Act, the Debt Servicing and Reduction Account Act and related Acts
(1997-02-20)
Tuesday, March 11, 1997 at 11:10 AM
Monday, March 10, 1997 at 9:05 AM
Friday, March 7, 1997 at 9:00 AM
Thursday, March 6, 1997 at 1:00 PM
Wednesday, March 5, 1997 at 2:15 PM
Wednesday, March 5, 1997 at 9:00 AM
Tuesday, March 4, 1997 at 9:05 AM
Monday, March 3, 1997 at 1:05 PM
Wednesday, February 26, 1997 at 1:05 PM
Wednesday, February 26, 1997 at 9:05 AM
Tuesday, February 25, 1997 at 1:55 PM
Tuesday, February 25, 1997 at 9:05 AM
Bill C-5, An Act to amend the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, the Companies' Creditors Arragement Act and the Income Tax Act
(1996-10-31)
Thursday, December 12, 1996 at 11:10 AM
Tuesday, December 10, 1996 at 10:05 AM
Thursday, December 5, 1996 at 11:05 AM
Tuesday, December 3, 1996 at 10:05 AM
Monday, December 2, 1996 at 6:15 PM
Thursday, November 28, 1996 at 11:05 AM
Tuesday, November 26, 1996 at 10:05 AM
Monday, November 4, 1996 at 5:05 PM
Bill C-4, An Act to amend the Standards Council of Canada Act
(1996-06-20)
Tuesday, September 24, 1996 at 10:05 AM
Bill C-36, An Act to amend the Income tax Act, the Excise Tax Act and the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Act, the Old Age Security Act and the Canada Shipping Act
(1996-06-19)
Thursday, June 20, 1996 at 11:05 AM
Bill C-19, An Act to implement the Agreement on Internal Trade
(1996-05-30)
Thursday, June 6, 1996 at 11:05 AM
Bill C-15, An Act to amend, enact and repeal certain laws relating to financial institutions
(1996-04-30)
Tuesday, April 30, 1996 at 6:05 PM
Legend
Audio Webcast
Audio Webcast
Video Webcast
Video Webcast
Meeting
Meeting
Minutes
Minutes
Transcripts
Transcripts
Interim
Interim
Meeting
Meeting
Witness
Witness

Orders of Reference

A committee’s order of reference is the Order of the Senate that authorizes it to examine a bill or to undertake a special study. Most committees require an order of reference before they can undertake such work. Three standing committees do, however, have permanent orders of reference, allowing them to undertake their work without waiting for a specific order of reference. These are the Committee on Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament (responsible for proposing amendments to the rules of the Senate, examining questions of privilege and consideration of the orders and customs of the Senate and privileges of Parliament), the Committee on Internal Economy, Budgets and Administration (responsible for the financial and administrative matters relating to the internal management of the Senate) and the Committee on Ethics and Conflict of Interest for Senators.