Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable GHISLAIN MALTAIS

Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017

Issue No. 27

Third and fourth meetings:

Study the potential impact of the effects of climate change on the agriculture, agri-food and forestry sectors


Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Canola Council of Canada:

Brian Innes, Vice-President, Government Relations.

Canadian Canola Growers Association:

Jack Froese, President;

Rick White, Chief Operating Officer.

Canadian Oilseed Processors Association:

Chris Vervaet, Executive Director (by video conference).

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Canadian Cattlemen's Association:

Bob Lowe, Chair, Environment Committee;

John Masswohl, Director of Government and International Relations.

Canadian Sheep Federation:

Corlena Patterson, Executive Director;

Barbara Johnstone-Grimmer, Director, British Columbia.

Canadian Pork Council:

Normand Martineau, 2nd Vice Chair;

Gary Stordy, Manager, Public Relations.


The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Chair

The Honourable Terry M. Mercer, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Bernard, Beyak, Dagenais, Gagné, Galvez, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Ogilvie, Oh, Petitclerc, Plett, Pratte, *Smith (or Martin), Tardif, Woo

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of December 7, 2016, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Dagenais replaced the Honourable Senator Boisvenu (March 30, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator McIntyre (March 30, 2017).

The Honourable Senator Merchant was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (March 30, 2017).