Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
Agriculture and Forestry

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable DIANE F. GRIFFIN

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018

Issue No. 48

Forty-fourth meeting:
Study the potential impact of the effects of climate change on the agriculture, agri-food and forestry sectors


Second meeting:
Study on how the value-added food sector can be more competitive in global markets


Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Government of Saskatchewan:

The Honourable Lyle Stewart, Minister of Agriculture;

The Honourable Dustin Duncan, Minister of Environment;

Lin Gallagher, Deputy Minister of Environment;

David Brock, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Environment;

William Greuel, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Agriculture.

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Food & Consumer Products of Canada:

Carla Ventin, Vice President, Government Relations.

Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance:

Claire Citeau, Executive Director.

Conseil de la transformation alimentaire du Québec:

Sylvie Cloutier, President and Chief Executive Officer;

Dimitri Fraeys, Vice-President, Innovation and Economic Affairs.

Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters:

Mathew Wilson, Vice President, Policy and Government Relations.


The Honourable Diane F. Griffin, Chair

The Honourable Ghislain Maltais, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Black (Ontario), Dagenais, *Day (or Mercer), Doyle, Gagné, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), (or Mitchell), Mercer, Oh, Petitclerc, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Oh replaced the Honourable Senator Tkachuk (April 18, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Tkachuk replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (April 13, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Woo replaced the Honourable Senator McCallum (March 29, 2018).