Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LARRY W. SMITH

Tuesday, June 7, 2016 (9:30a.m. Meeting)
Tuesday, June 7, 2016 (11:48a.m. Meeting)
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 (Afternoon Meeting)
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 (Evening Meeting)

Issue No. 11

Fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh meetings:

The subject matter of all of Bill C-15, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 22, 2016 and other measures


The Honourable Bill Morneau, P.C., M.P., Minister of Finance


Tuesday, June 7, 2016 (9:30a.m. Meeting)

C.D. Howe Institute:

Alexandre Laurin, Director of Research.

As individuals:

Douglas Cumming, Professor, Schulich School of Business, York University; and

The Honourable Darrell Pasloski, Premier of Yukon
(by video conference).

Canadian Federation of Independent Business:

Monique Moreau, Director, National Affairs.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016 (11:48a.m. Meeting)

Department of Finance Canada:

Miodrag Jovanovic, Director General, Analysis, Tax Policy Branch;

Nicholas Leswick, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch;

Rob Stewart, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; and

Tom McGirr, Chief, Equalization and TFF Policy, Federal-Provincial Relations Division, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016 (Afternoon Meeting)

Canadians for Tax Fairness:

Dennis Howlett, Executive Director.

Imagine Canada:

Bruce MacDonald, President and CEO.

Sport Matters Group:

Bob Elliott, Senior Leader.

Office of the Chief Actuary:

Jean-Claude Ménard, Chief Actuary.

Office of the Privacy Commissioner:

Patricia Kosseim, Senior General Counsel and Director General, Legal Services, Policy and Research Branch;

Miguel Bernal-Castillero, Strategic and Research Policy Analyst.

Wednesday, June 8, 2016 (Evening Meeting)

Canadian Taxpayers Federation:

Aaron Wudrick, Federal Director (by video conference).

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Jean-Denis Fréchette, Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer;

Jason Jacques, Director, Fiscal Analysis;

Carleigh Malanik, Financial Analyst;

Duncan MacDonald, Financial Analyst; and

Chris Matier, Senior Director, Economic and Fiscal Analysis and Forecasting.


The Honourable Larry Smith, Chair

The Honourable Larry W. Campbell, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

        Andreychuk, Ataullahjan, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Eaton, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Marshall, Mitchell, Mockler, Neufeld

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Ataullahjan was added to the membership (June 8, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Lang (June 7, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Mitchell was added to the membership (June 7, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Andreychuk replaced the Honourable Senator Manning (June 6, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Lang replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (June 6, 2016).