Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16

Chair: The Honourable LARRY SMITH

Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Issue No. 16

First and second meetings:

Bill C-2, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act


Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer:

Jean-Denis Fréchette, Parliamentary Budget Officer.

Canadian Labour Congress:

Angella MacEwen, Senior Economist, Social and Economic Policy Department.

Fraser Institute:

Charles Lammam, Director, Fiscal Studies (by video conference).

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives:

David Macdonald, Senior Economist.

The Conference Board of Canada:

Craig Alexander, Senior Vice President and Chief Economist.

Canadian Taxpayers Federation:

Aaron Wudrick, Federal Director.


The Honourable Larry Smith, Chair

The Honourable Anne C. Cools, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Ataullahjan, Batters, *Carignan, P.C. (or Martin), Day, Eaton, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare), Marshall, Mitchell, Mockler, Neufeld, Pratte

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Batters replaced the Honourable Senator Andreychuk (October 26, 2016).

The Honourable Senator Day replaced the Honourable Senator Cowan (October 24, 2016).