Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Issue No. 50

Twenty-fifth and twenty-sixth meetings:
Study on the Minister of Finance's proposed changes to the Income Tax Act respecting the taxation of private corporations and the tax planning strategies involved


Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (morning)

Dairy Farmers of Nova Scotia:

Gerrit Damsteegt, Chair.

Nova Scotia Federation of Agriculture:

Chris van den Heuvel, President.

Halifax Chamber of Commerce:

Patrick Sullivan, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Atlantic Chamber of Commerce:

Glenn Davis, Vice President, Policy.

Cape Breton Barristers' Society:

Nicole LaFosse, Lawyer, LaFosse MacLeod.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 (afternoon)

Doctors Nova Scotia:

Dr. Maria Alexiadis, Family Doctor, Past President.

Cape Breton Medical Staff Association:

Dr. Craig Stone, Physician, President.

Maritime Resident Doctors:

Dr. Caitlin Lees, Chair.

Atlantic Provinces Economic Council:

Finn Poschmann, President and Chief Executive Officer.

As an individual:

Dr. Pierre Schmit, Associate Professor, Radiology and Pediatric, Dalhousie University — IWK Health Centre.

Flaim Wolsey Hall, Chartered Professional Accountants:

Don Wolsey, Partner.

Halifax-Dartmouth & District Labour Council:

Suzanne MacNeil, President.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Black, Campbell, Cools, Day, *Day (ou Mercer), Eaton, Forest, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Jaffer, Marshall, Neufeld, Pratte, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Change in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Oh (November 20, 2017).