Download as PDF

Proceedings of the Standing Senate Committee on
National Finance

First Session, Forty-second Parliament, 2015-16-17-18

Chair: The Honourable PERCY MOCKLER

Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Thursday, November 22, 2018

Issue No. 80

First, second and third meetings:
Supplementary Estimates (A) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2019

Fifth (final) meeting:
Bill C-62, An Act to amend the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act and other Acts

Fifteenth meeting:
Study on such issues as may arise from time to time relating to federal estimates generally, including the public accounts, reports of the Auditor General and government finance

(Bill C-62)


Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces:

Claude Rochette, Chief Financial Officer/Assistant Deputy Minister (Finance);

Patrick Finn, Assistant Deputy Minister (Materiel);

Rob Chambers, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister (Infrastructure and Environment);

Major-General Hercule Gosselin, Chief of Programme.

Global Affairs Canada:

Arun Thangaraj, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Planning, Finance and Information Technology.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 (afternoon)

Privy Council Office:

Matthew Shea, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer;

Michael Hammond, Executive Director and Deputy Chief Financial Officer, Finance, Planning and Administration Directorate.

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada:

Daniel Mills, Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer, Finance;

Christopher Meyers, Director General, Finance;

Mike MacDonald, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic and Program Policy;

Bruce Scoffield, Director General, Immigration Program Guidance Branch.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada:

Alex Lakroni, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Joe Wild, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Treaties and Aboriginal Government;

Karen Turcotte, Director General, Resolution and Individual Affairs Sector.

Indigenous Services Canada:

Paul Thoppil, Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer;

Marie Doyle, Regional Executive Director, Northern Region, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch;

Claudia Ferland, Director General, Regional Infrastructure Delivery Branch.

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 (evening)

Office of the Auditor General of Canada:

Terrance DeJong, Assistant Auditor General;

Karen Hogan, Principal;

Renée Pichard, Principal.

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Janique Caron, Assistant Comptroller General, Financial Management Sector;

Diane Peressini, Executive Director, Government Accounting Policy and Reporting, Office of the Comptroller General.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Paul Halucha, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Industry Sector;

Charles Vincent, Director General, Automotive, Transportation and Digital Technology Branch.

Export Development Canada:

David Bhamjee, Vice-President, Corporate Communications and Public Affairs.

Department of Finance Canada:

Soren Halverson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development and Corporate Finance Branch.

Global Affairs Canada:

Arun Thangaraj, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Planning, Finance and Information Technology;

Chris Moran, Director General, Trade Portfolio Strategy and Coordination.

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat:

Karen Cahill, Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer;

Brian Pagan, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management Sector;

Glenn Purves, Assistant Secretary Designate, Expenditure Management Sector;

Marcia Santiago, Executive Director, Expenditure Management Sector.

Infrastructure and Communities:

Nathalie Bertrand, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services;

Marc Fortin, Assistant Deputy Minister, Program Operations.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada:

Philippe Thompson, Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Management Sector;

Lisa Setlakwe, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategy and Innovation Policy Sector;

Mitch Davies, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Innovation Canada.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada:

Jen O'Donoughue, Chief Financial Officer;

Andy Smith, Deputy Commissioner, Strategy and Shipbuilding, Canadian Coast Guard;

Luc Boucher, Director, Harbour Development, Policy and Planning.


The Honourable Percy Mockler, Chair

The Honourable Mobina S.B. Jaffer, Deputy Chair

The Honourable André Pratte, Deputy Chair


The Honourable Senators:

Andreychuk, Boehm, Day, *Day (or Mercer), Deacon (Ontario), Eaton, Forest, *Harder, P.C. (or Bellemare) (or Mitchell), Marshall, Moncion, Neufeld, *Smith (or Martin), *Woo (or Saint-Germain)

*Ex officio members

(Quorum 4)

Changes in membership of the committee:

Pursuant to rule 12-5 and to the order of the Senate of November 7, 2017, membership of the committee was amended as follows:

The Honourable Senator Neufeld replaced the Honourable Senator Frum (November 21, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Frum replaced the Honourable Senator Neufeld (November 20, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Boehm was added to the membership (November 19, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Deacon (Nova Scotia) was removed from the membership of the committee, substitution pending (November 19, 2018).

The Honourable Senator Deacon (Ontario) replaced the Honourable Senator Duffy (November 8, 2018).